Tags

, , , , ,

My husband and I were invited to attend an event celebrating alumni excellence at SAIT Polytechnic.

A very good friend of ours received the 2011 Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizing leadership, exceptional achievement in her field and outstanding contributions to the community. We are so proud of her! xo

As soon as I received the invitation I couldn’t wait to get dressed up! I haven’t gone out to any type of event since the birth of my son and was aching to wear something that didn’t consist of jeans/yoga pants/flats/sweatshirts etc.

I have a gorgeous polka dot skirt that has been in my closet for almost a decade. I purchased it when I worked for Anne.X and have maybe worn it once. I have found it difficult to find pieces to compliment this skirt.

I looked to a couple of my favorite fashion bloggers for inspiration and here are two posts that assisted me in putting my outfit together:

Wendy’s Lookbook: Sunny Day :: Embroidered Shorts & Marco Tagliaferri bag

nonie’s last word: Circles of Silk

I love how my outfit came together! I am excited because I love wearing dresses and skirts to work. With my maternity leave soon coming to an end, I am finally able to add these polka dots to my work wardrobe.

Do you have any treasured pieces?

